Science to accelerate the implementation of SDG6

Intergovernmental Hydrological Programme (IHP) of UNESCO and the Sustainable Water Future program of Future Earth are developing a joint action plan, “Science for SDG6: Science to accelerate the implementation of SDG6″, focusing on the role that 21st Century Science can play in addressing the gaps in SDG monitoring, assessment, and implementation. The outcome of this initiative will be a water science research agenda which will be one of the key guiding documents to be presented and discussed with different stakeholders at the UN 2023 Water Conference to be held in March 2023 in New York.
The agenda will provide the foundation and basis for discussions and further engagement with UN member countries, Intergovernmental agencies, civil society and funding bodies. Furthermore, the science research agenda will also be a contribution to the 9th Phase of IHP (IHP IX 2022-2029) “Science for a Water Secure World in a Changing Environment.”
As part of the action plan, two high-level task forces will be formed with world-renowned scientists and governance and policy experts. The task force focussing on “Frontiers of Water sciences and Development Goals” will explore in-depth the scientific models and tools that can support the SDG implementation in monitoring, infrastructure planning, policymaking, and impact evaluation.
The task force will work closely with the other task force,” Science Policy Interlinkages”, focussing on “Resilient Water Management Approaches boundary conditions and policies”. The latter task force will explore the benefits and institutional complexity of applying the scientific tools in SDG implementation for the member countries. It will recommend strategies to overcome the challenges so that Science can effectively contribute to SDG 6 Acceleration.